Bar grub at Red Squirrel

After driving north from the Lake District, we spent our first evening at Red Squirrel, a bar I read about that stocks over 20 varieties of craft beer and ales on draft. Apart from booze, the place is also known for its extensive menu of burgers – I counted 10 different varieties during my visit but the menu could well have changed since last summer.

The interior consists of regular dining tables for customers looking for a proper sit-down, as well as a bar counter for a quick after-work pint. There was a buzz about the place and a friendly atmosphere overall. Being hungry and wanting an early dinner, we took a table and consulted with the menu and server. Not being an aficionado of craft beer and ales, I went with the recommendation for a pint of the Innis & Gunn Original, a honey-hued beer that’s aged in American White Oak barrels. This was the best beer I’ve tasted to date, as it has a trace of caramel in its taste, and I continue to be dismayed that it’s not available in Singapore.

Red chilli squid with lemon and garlic mayo
Red chilli squid with lemon and garlic mayo

Our shared starter of fried squid with garlic mayo (£5.95) was a nice snack to go with the beer. I only wish there was more of the squid!

The Pioneer gourmet burger
The Pioneer gourmet burger

The Pioneer (£9.25) is a handmade gourmet burger. The 6 oz beef is sourced from Simon Howie Butchers and made with an in-house recipe, served in a toasted artisan sourdough bun. Other ingredients between the sourdough buns are dill pickles, beef tomato and lettuce with red cabbage slaw and string fries, sautéed mushrooms with rosemary, crispy bacon, Swiss cheese and garlic mayo. Sounds like a real mouthful, doesn’t it?

The beef was tender and moist, but don’t take my word for it; here’s photographic evidence:

Cross-section of the Pioneer gourmet burger
Cross-section of the Pioneer gourmet burger

I know there are people who frown upon bar grub; whether it’s due to bad experiences or hearsay from others, I think it’s only fair that you give every F&B establishment a shot at proving you wrong. That’s what reviews are for. Increasingly, the general public is acquiring an awareness and appreciation for better-quality food, and don’t hold me against any numbers, but I believe most of these folks are willing to pay a reasonable premium for the better quality.

Red Squirrel’s a place I would return every time I’m in the city. So if you’re visiting Edinburgh, I encourage you to check this place out. For what it’s worth, this is one of the more memorable places from my road trip in Scotland.

Red Squirrel

21 Lothian Road Old Town

2 thoughts on “Bar grub at Red Squirrel

Leave a comment